01224 749100 info@hospitality-training.org.uk

Due to the current COVID-19 outbreak all our course programme

training courses can be offered virtually

fb.png  twt.png  Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200.png  Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200.png

North East of Scotland Chef of the Year

 North East of Scotland Chef and Restaurant of the Year 2020


It is with a very heavy heart that the committee and staff at Hospitality Training have taken the decision to cancel this year's competition and awards dinner.  The Government's concerns about Coronavirus are escalating rapidly and the safety of all of our competitors, friends, family, and colleagues are at the forefront of our minds.

Our thoughts and prayers are with you all during this incredibly challenging time for the Hospitality Industry.


As one of Scotland’s most prestigious and respected culinary contests, the North East of Scotland Chef of the Year & Restaurant of the Year competitions will once again be putting the spotlight on the fresh talent coming out of the region’s kitchens. 

The event, which was launched in its current format in 2002, is the largest regional culinary competition of its type in Scotland and aims to raise levels of culinary excellence and encourage the use of the quality local ingredients being produced in the north east. Each year, the best and most creative chefs compete for the best Chef titles which can open doors to future success and create many industry opportunities.



The main categories in this year’s awards are:


  • Chef of the Year
  • Young Chef of the Year
  • Vegetarian Chef of the Year
  • Seafood Chef of the Year
  • Lamb Chef of the Year
  • Restaurant of the Year
  • Hotel Restaurant of the Year
  • Bar Food Award
  • Best Afternoon Tea


The final of the chefs’ cook-offs will be judged by a panel from the Federation of Chefs Scotland using international culinary marking criteria.  Prizes for the winners include specially commissioned trophies and Federation of Chefs Scotland medals.


For all the latest news about the competitions click here.

To watch the YouTube clips of the finalists dishes click here.


For full details of the rules and timings click here


For information on how to apply and the online entry form


2018 saw some of the highest standards in cooking in the region.  The full listing of winners from each section is available here.

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners 


There are a variety of prizes on offer to the winners of each category. Prize List