01224 749100 info@hospitality-training.org.uk

Due to the current COVID-19 outbreak all our course programme

training courses have been suspended until further notice

fb.png  twt.png  Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200.png  Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200.png

Scottish Credit Qualifications Framework

Aren't qualifications confusing? How do you tell what qualifications are what? How do they compare with one another? Are they 'as good' as each other?

Well, the following should help both employers and learners understand and compare the range of qualifications available in Scotland.

The Scottish Credit Qualifications Framework has 12 levels - from level 1 (very basic education) to level 12 (postgraduate doctorates). Credit points can be used to transfer from one qualification to another, e.g. from a SVQ or from an HNC to the second year of a degree course.

SCQF level SQA National
Units, Courses & Group Awards
Higher Education Scottish Vocational Qualifications
12 - Doctorates
11 - Masters SVQ5
10 - Honours degree
Graduate Diploma
9 - Ordinary Degree
Graduate Certificate
8 - Higher National Diploma
Diploma in Higher Education
7 Advanced Higher Higher National Certificate
Certificate in Higher Education
6 Higher - SVQ3

Intermediate 2 National 5 or
Credit Standard Grade

- SVQ2

Intermediate 1 National 4 or
General Standard Grade

- SVQ1
3 Access 3
Foundation Standard Grade
2 Access 2 -  
1 Access 1 -


Please Contact Us for further information.